Playing Mathematically

Anybody who knows me, can easily see I have a passion for playing games. A fellow teacher starts each school day trying to beat me at “Stop or Dare”. At the end of a teaching day Maths teachers and the odd English teacher gather for a game of “Liar’s Dice”. WHY?

  1. Playing Mathly CoverIt’s fun (we laugh and shout)
  2. It’s relationship building
  3. It provides practice in basic arithmetic

I have now gathered over 100 games that I have tried in the classroom. Three are originals invented by yours truly: domino squares, operation golf and salute the king.

Click the image at right to download.

Hope you enjoy playing. Let me know your favourites!

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment