Maths Warmups

Many Math Blogs have good ideas for starting a Maths lesson. For example:

  1. WODB
  2. Would You Rather
  3. Always, Sometimes, Never
  4. Transum
  5. Solve My Maths

When I started teaching Maths (37 years ago!) my mentors impressed on me the importance of getting a lesson off to a good start. As a result, my students know that as soon as they sit down they are expected to start work.

Apart from forming good work habits and learning Maths, this immediate use of a “warmup” allows the teacher to complete his/her admin duties. For example: roll marking, checking uniform and equipment, deal with late arrivals, read daily bulletin, etc.

Although I use WODB, Would You Rather, etc., my preference is for 10 quick questions. These should be graduated in difficulty from easy to challenging.

mandy-and-drew

I have nearly finished creating “50 Warmups for Secondary School Students”. One of my students contributed two drawings – a boy and a girl character as shown above. She named them Mandy and Drew! Below is a sample – let me know what you think?

warmup-17

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Teaching Ideas, Worksheets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

