2016 Bring It On

clip-art-gardening-188910As usual during the summer holidays I get sick of gardening and housework and can’t wait to get back to school. Fortunately, I have 90 Mathematics teaching blogs in my RSS reader.

These give me plenty of inspiration, as well as teaching ideas and resources.

Here are 5 that have “caught my eye”:

1. Add Em Up Review Activity by Sara Vanderwerf. Her goal is to get students talking about Maths! Make sure you check out her 1 to 100 activity also – a great way to get group work going with a new class.

2. Putting Stats Projects into Practice by Amy Hogan. We are implementing common assessment tasks this year. This post gives great advice on ten important features of doing Projects in the classroom.

3. Visual Patterns and Coding by Adrian Pumphrey. I intend to continue using the excellent Visual Patterns website and now I will add some programming with Skulptor and graphing with Desmos.

4. Creating a Positive Learning Environment by Mo Ladak where he gives 22 great strategies to help achieve this. Well worth a read!

5. Learning Mathematics: the struggle, the tools and the way forward by Michaela Epstein. This up and coming star Aussie teacher is a product of the fantastic TFA program. Watch her presentation from the Transform Ed conference.

20 more sleeps………..zzzzzzzzzzz

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Lists, Teaching Ideas, Web Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment