My Ten Favorite Programs

After reading Sue Waters’ excellent post entitled “How to not have a problem uploading photos and using up storage space” on The Edubloger, I remembered that I have been putting off this post for a few weeks now.

What software programs could you not bear to be without? Below is my list of ten. I have left out, on purpose, games and educational software. They deserve a post of their own.

1. WordPress – the best blogging software of course!

2. Google Reader – a must have to check over 80 blogs I now follow.

3. Irfanview – my favorite image program, freeware too.

4. iTunes – everyone loves music, don’t they?

5. Fast Launcher – this little program helps stop my frustration with the Windows OS.

6. Google Chrome – the more I use this to surf the internet, the more I am impressed.

7. Advanced System Care – keeping my laptop fine tuned and spyware free – I hope?

8. Gmail – efficient email and keeps the spam out.

9. Real Player – great for playing and downloading videos.

10. Acrobat Reader – great document reader.

Whoops, I forgot Microsoft Office! And of course who could live without the Google search engine? Let me know if you would add any more to this list – top 20?

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Lists, Web Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Ten Favorite Programs

  1. Sue Waters says:

    Glad my post reminded you about this post.

    Top of my lists are:

    1. SnagIT – use it for all my screenshots
    2. Gmail – because it makes managing emails easy
    3. Google Calendar – I program all my work into the calendar and set up reminders so I action them
    4. Google Docs – lets me share Docs and spreadsheets easily with others
    5. Twitter – cause 🙂
    6. Run three web browsers at the same time – IE , FF and Chrome. IE least favorite.
    7. PhraseExpress – really great for helping write emails when I have to write the same information
    8. Camtasia Studio – for creating videos
    9. NotePad – great for cleaning up code
    10. Gtalk – for IMing

Leave a Reply

