A Challenge to all Mathematics Teachers

cropped-Steve-Wyborney-JPEG.jpg

Steve Wyborney on his blog – I’m on a Learning Mission – recently challenged educators to:

Think deeply about what you believe about every student’s learning potential.  Complete this sentence and post it.

“I believe…”

I replied:

“I believe that students are waiting for teachers to show them: the beauty of Mathematics, the aha moment when understanding dawns, and the intrinsic motivation that comes from persevering and finally solving a challenging problem”.

My challenge to educators is to think creatively about taking a risk and changing their teaching practice. Complete this sentence and post it.

“I wonder what would happen in my Mathematics class if …..”

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

