Resources ….

spirit duplicator

As a young first year teacher in 1980, I had many things to learn.

I started searching for and making resources to help my students learn. The smell of methylated spirits from using a spirit duplicator is still a vivid memory.

Then I had to decide how to file these valuable resources for future use?file-cabinet

My filing cabinet soon was overflowing with worksheets, tests, homework, etc. But finding that fractions test master could sometimes take a while. Ten minutes before 8C Maths and half the contents of my filing cabinet would be scattered all over the office floor!

GlobalInternetThe invention of the computer and photo-copier has sure made teacher’s preparation a lot easier. We can now collaborate and share with teachers all over the world. Teaching blogs and websites now provide teachers with a vast amount of resources.

One of my new favourites is “Resourceaholic” by Jo Morgan. She labels her posts “Maths Gems” and I highly recommend that you investigate her website here.

Jo Morgan

Upon checking the hard drive on my nearly worn out Lenovo L420 laptop, I find that I have over 28000 files in my ~MATHEMATICS folder!

Mathematics Directory

 To find a particular file, the search function is invaluable. However, I decided a logical folder naming system was important too. Here is a snapshot of it:

Maths Folders

I am also experimenting with using “Notebook” to organise my resources. How do you keep all your Maths teaching documents organised and easily retrieved?

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized, Worksheets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

