You can have your Maths Cake and eat it too!

My year 8’s are just finishing a unit on ratio. Their assignment included working out ingredients needed to make a “Harriet Hedgehog” and a “Calculator” cake. You can check out the assignment at hermathness.

I added an extra ingredient (excuse the pun), that if they baked a hedgehog or calculator cake they would be rewarded with 2 extra grades. Three students took up the challenge. Shown below are their cakes which they shared with their class!

cakes

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy, Show and Tell, Teaching Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You can have your Maths Cake and eat it too!

  1. hermathness says:

    Mr. T – so glad you found the worksheet on my wiki. I must confess the recipes are not originally mine; being American, I don’t have access to all the ingredients and have never been able to make the cakes. But I think next year I will challenge my students to try to make one of the cakes anyway!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

