4 More Sleeps

summer-holsThe summer holidays are nearly over. As usual I can’t wait to get back to school. I have had the time to do lots of reading (fiction and mathematics) and to do some planning for this years classes. But nothing beats being in the classroom with kids.

Shelley Wright at Wright’s Room, has been a consultant for the last 12 months. I quote the following from her blog, which expresses my feelings perfectly:

“Everyday since I have left my classroom, I have missed it. Everyday I have missed kids. I miss their energy and enthusiasm, their optimism. Their quirks. Their struggles. Their hugs. I miss the energy and noise of a school. And even though I work in classrooms, those kids are never mine. They always belong to someone else.

Beyond this I miss pushing the envelope, trying what’s new. Innovating. Failing. And learning in the most intense way I have ever experienced. I love taking risks, problem-solving the glitches and the intensity it requires of my brain. It makes me feel alive”.

So 4 days or 96 hours or 5760 minutes or 347600 seconds. Hurry up please!

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

