Teaching in 2013 – I can’t wait

BacktoSchoolAt this stage of the summer holidays I get restless. I want to be back at school. I can’t wait to meet my new students. Will they be keen and excited to be back at school? Can I inspire them to love Maths like I do?

To fill in the time over the holidays, I spend more time doing online PD than any other time of the year! Part of this time is using Google Reader to catch up on my favourite blogs.

For example: BLOGUSH. Paul Bogush’s post ….every other teacher gives some great advice to a first year teacher: What will your first words be to a new class?

hello class

What about an “old” Maths teacher in his 35th year of teaching? Adopting Paul’s script, it might be something like this:

(leaning over desk, both palms on table, dead serious, start with neutral voice that allows you plenty of space to get loud, soft, serious, pause, speed up)

Let’s start…

I have a confession…

I am so scared.

I

have been teaching

for 35 years….

and I have loved every day!

But soon, my teaching days

will be over.

But not only am I scared…

I am ridiculously excited.

Because some students

in this class,

will learn to love Maths

like I do.

Someday when they have left school,

they will think

that’s where my love of Maths

started.

I hope this year will be just as awesome for you

as it will be for me.

Ready?

Now the first thing I learned in teacher school was to do attendance and learn names so I that make sure that if your name is Alice I don’t call you Bob…of course if your name is Alice and I call you Bob you probably have bigger problems than just me not remembering your name.

Who’s Benjamin Sumpter?
Hi Ben…
Ben what’s one thing I should know about you?

The key to this approach is making a connection with the students, as well as keeping it interesting. Then perhaps they will engage more in their learning and perhaps even draw pictures like:

Mr T

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy, Personal, Teaching Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teaching in 2013 – I can’t wait

  1. Judy Nutter says:

    Wish you had been my maths teacher 🙂

Leave a Reply

