Using Exit Cards

I have never used an exit card until my Year 11 class last week. The topic was “Matrices”. I prepared 3 questions, as shown below, to see if my students had learnt some of the key skills. I handed out the cards with only 5 minutes of the lesson remaining. This was a mistake. Not enough time! But give my students credit, they all kept working after the bell until finished.

I will use their answers this week to reteach any concepts not understood. I will definitely keep using exit cards and with practice will get my timing right.


Another format I’m planning to use will look like:

Matt at “Educational Aspirations” has a good blog post on the use of exit cards.

How do you use “Exit Cards”???

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy, Teaching Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Using Exit Cards

  1. Jackie says:

    I use a “show what you know” board for my exit cards. I ask a question, like what was something you already knew, or something that you learned, or something you’re still unsure about. The students put them on sticky notes on a piece of cardboard on the back wall. The kids liked it. I did this with a year 11 pvm class.

Leave a Reply

