Well, Spare me Bloomin’ Days!

‘Is name’s Bluey …Well, spare me bloomin’ days!

You could er knocked me down wiv ‘arf a brick!

Yes, me, that kids meself I know kids ways,

An’ ‘as a name for teachin’ in G10!

I just lines up ‘an says stay in yer seat.

But strike! The way he piled on dawg!

Yer’d think a bloke was as good a teacher as Cammy….

‘Is name’s Bluey.

[Adapted from C J Dennis, “The Sentimental Bloke”, Ch2 The Intro]

I love the poetry of C J Dennis – particularly The Songs of a Sentimental Bloke and The Moods of Ginger Mick. I can even recite most of Chap 2 – The Intro!

I Walked into my Year 7 class today after lunch. We investigated possible nets for a cube. Lots of drawings of Hexominos, then used Polydron to test them. Similar to this lesson plan from Illuminations.

Bluey worked well but left his desk without permission once. I put his name on the board as a warning. No more problems.

The kids packed up efficiently, and I dismissed the class. Bluey lingered behind and then said to me:

“Thank you Mr. T, that was a very good lesson”!

Well, spare me bloomin’ days, I was stuck for words – like a “stunned mullet”.

Jeez – I love teaching – and Aussie slang…

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Personal, Teaching Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Well, Spare me Bloomin’ Days!

  1. Rachel Sumpter says:

    er names Doreen!

Leave a Reply

