Polygons

The first topic in Year 7 next year is “Shapes”. We will study both polygons and polyhedra.

My new year’s resolution is not ground breaking – it is simply to try to be much better organised for my classes. I have a lot of resources, but I can’t always find them when I start teaching a new topic! Any empathy out there?

As a start, I have decided to set up an Excel spreadsheet similar to Craig at his excellent blog “Approaching Infinity”. Check out his post – Organizing Those Stolen … err Borrowed … Lessons.

As a follow on from my last post on Coins, I wondered what range of polygons have been used to make coins and commemorative tokens? Could this be a rich area for student investigation?

And so I set out searching the web. I was amazed at the wide variety of non-circular coins that have been minted!

Of course I could have continued on with: Dodecagon (Australian 50 cents), Tridecagon (Czech Republic 20 Korun), Tetradecagon (Malaysia 10 Ringgit).

Somalia, though has minted the most unique coins including their 3D one dollar coins shown below:

But I wondered: “Should I restrict myself to coins?”

Miss K. had the answer for me. Her interesting grade 6 blog has lots of references to how she teaches kids about Polygons. Check out her Creative Polygon Assignment, where her students had to find examples of the basic regular polygons. For example:

And I think my students will enjoy watching Mrs. Yollis’ class performing their Polygon Movie.

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Geometry, Maths and ICT, Teaching Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

