Maths Teacher in the Middle East

While travelling overseas, Iam always on the lookout for examples of Mathematics!

Of course the planning of a trip involves aspects of Mathematics too. For example, climate data, travel distances, time differences and currency conversions.

And so I was looking forward to a three week trip to Jordan and Syria where my Mathematical skills would be tested. I knew from previous travels, that with each problem or setback, there is always a [positive side].

ERROR #1: I took far too many clothes, it was much warmer than I expected. [The warm, sunny weather was beautiful.]

Our flight to Abu Dhabi on Etihad Airlines was excellent. The time difference was —–hrs. I noted the time at destination and adjusted my watch.

ERROR #2: Sitting in the airport cafe drinking coffee, thinking I had plenty of time. When I arrived at the departure gate my connecting flight had already left.

[Staying at the Abu Dhabi airport for 4 extra hours gave me plenty of time to appreciate the beautiful, hexagonal tesselated mosaic ceiling (pictured below). Also meeting some friendly, fellow travellers from other countries.]

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Applications, Personal, Show and Tell and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maths Teacher in the Middle East

  1. Dianne Downie says:

    Didn’t know about missing the connecting flight. Just don’t miss that one coming home.

  2. Mathspig says:

    HI Jeff, I’m sure if there are tessellations to be found anywhere in the world you are the one to find them. Great pics. Mathspig

Leave a Reply

