Numbers Game 2

If the last post whet your appetite for this type of puzzle, then the screenshot below presents you (or your students) with another challenge. Can you make 533?

I showed the online video to my year 9’s today and they went for it. I played it up a bit and claimed that I had fallen in love with Lily. I showed her bio on the whiteboard and tried to break down the stereotype of a “Maths nerd”. Onto the video and the kids were busy trying to get the target numbers! A worthwhile way to spend the last 20 minutes of an afternoon class, since the students were engaged right up to the bell!

Here is a link to an online flash version of this game from the excellent nrich website.

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Games, Problem Solving, Show and Tell and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Numbers Game 2

  1. Simon Job says:

    50 × 9 + 75 + 10 – 2

  2. webmaths says:

    Correct solution Simon!

  3. Robyn says:

    Hi Jeff,

    If you’re interested in the numbers game, there is actually a website that does much the same thing in terms of choosing random numbers then trying to get to a randomly generated number. I was a contestant on L&N last week (although I won’t be appearing until April!) and this was good practice for that!

    http://www.dilan4.com/maths/countdown.htm

  4. Coco says:

    Seriously how could you not love Lily Serna, I mean come on! She’s a bona fide triple threat – brains, beauty and brains.

  5. Vicky says:

    Hi,
    I use this interactive version in the classroom:
    http://www.subtangent.com/maths/countdown.php
    Vicky

Leave a Reply

