To Blog or Not to Blog?

As we move further into the technological world of the 21st century, it is important to realize the importance of blogging.

As a teacher, blogging has become my primary means of Professional Development. It gives me a window into the classrooms of teachers from all over the world. It allows me to reflect on my practice, and to have other teachers add their critique. It encourages me to create new, original content for my classes. For example see Bento Box Designs, Domino Squares, and stay tuned for “How Many Rectangles?”

Blogging has allowed me to see the value of setting up a student homework blog and a problem solving blog. The next logical step is to get students publishing their own blogs. This will give them an authentic audience and develop their Mathematical skills and their Digital literacy.

From my school’s point of view, this PD costs them nothing. No travel or accommodation costs. No missed classes. No CRT cost. I estimate that I spend 1000 hours per year, reading other teacher’s blogs and writing my own blog posts. Compare this to the meager number of hours spent on PD by more traditional methods!

Of course, their are other good reasons to blog (see my post Why I Blog?), but the benefits of Blogging as a means of Teacher PD are compelling!!!!

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

