Make 10

I’m back from a great holiday in Thailand, which included visiting an Elephant sanctuary, dipping my feet into a fish spa, visiting many Buddhist temples and eating delicious green curries.

This semester I have a Year 7 Maths class which has a wide range of abilities. Hence, expect future posts that will focus on basic Math skills suited to students from Grade 2 to Year 8. I was amazed to find some students could skip count by twos, but threes and fives were very challenging for them. It was obvious that these students needed a very concrete approach.

And so I tried the card game – Make 10. The kids played in pairs of fairly similar abilities. The students engaged well and some of the more able students tried some variations.

My challenge will be to find more games and rich tasks which cater for a range of ability. These kids will also need lots of positive encouragement to build back their self esteem.

Stay tuned to this space to check my progress!

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Games, Worksheets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

