End of Semester

One week to go! On one hand I will be relieved, teachers need a break or burn out may occur? On the other hand I will lose my Year 9 classes and get new ones, as some students will elect to do Extension Maths. After getting to know my students and building up a good working relationship, I will be sad to lose them.

They are a happy, relaxed bunch. For example, this conversation took place last week:

MrT: “Do you know the hardest word to spell in the English language?”

Student A: “No what is it Sir?”

MrT: “Haemorrhage, can you spell it?”

Student B: “I-T”

MrT: “Haha very funny”

Student C: “H-A-E-M-O-R-A-G-E”

MrT: “Good try, but not correct”

Student D: “Excuse me Sir, but Haemorrhage is not the hardest word to spell”

MrT: “Well, what is?”

Student D: “Bob, for some reason I always spell it backwards!”

I was lost for words and then broke down laughing.

I was thinking that I should ask students to reflect on what they have learnt and give me some feedback on my teaching. If I get any insights like Mr. H. then it will be very worthwhile.

But am I game? What will student D write?

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

