A Picture is Worth 1000 Words

Wikipedia states that:   “A picture is worth a thousand words” refers to the idea that complex stories can be described with just a single still image, or that an image may be more influential than a substantial amount of text. It also aptly characterizes the goals of visualization where large amounts of data must be absorbed quickly.

I love pictures (I am predominantly a visual learner), and hence rarely write a blog post without adding an image or three. I also regularly use pictures and diagrams in my Mathematics teaching.

One book that I often use in class  is  “Time Life Mathematics” published in 1969.

It has some great pictures, especially for teaching Probability. My favourite shows families with long runs of consecutive boys or girls.

And then there is a visual of the 36 different outcomes when rolling a pair of dice:

Other visuals show the odds of different poker hands and the chances of two people in a group having the same birthday.

What examples of pictures do you use in the classroom?

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Show and Tell, Teaching Ideas, Visualisation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Picture is Worth 1000 Words

  1. jennylu says:

    Hi Jeff,
    Your posts are great. Love the Bento Box idea for your maths class. Lovely to see innovation happening in Victorian classrooms.
    Jenny : )

  2. webmaths says:

    Thanks Jenny, I appreciate your encouragement! To think it is now nearly 18 months ago since you were the first to post a comment on my blog. It is comments like yours that have made up my mind to nominate as a session speaker advocating Blogs at the MAV conference. Regards, Jeff.

  3. Thanks for the great posts. I enjoy reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

