Teach Like a Champion

I am very excited to have just received my own copy of  “Teach Like a Champion”, by Doug Lemov. It is the first book I have ordered online at Amazon. It arrived in 2 weeks at a very reasonable $15 US.

This book has caused quite a stir. This New York  Times article gave readers a good overview.

I Googled: “Teach Like a Champion” blog articles; and got 1010 hits! Conclusion: lots of people are reading and talking about Lemov’s book.

I’m looking forward to reading Rebecca Zook’s review.

Personally, I am loving this book. It is an excellent vehicle to help me review my teaching practice. It is easy to read and understand. The accompanying video clips add another dimension. So far I have read:

Technique 1:  No Opt Out

Technique 2:  Right is Right

Wonderful stuff!

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teach Like a Champion

  1. Rebecca says:

    Hey Jeff! Thanks for the link! 🙂 I like your blog– your personality really shines through. I am *almost* done reading Lemov. Looking forward to hearing more about what you think of it!

  2. Mathspig says:

    Hey Jeff,
    I look at your blog to keep up with any new ideas. It is, as you note, about life long learning. What’s happening? What can I learn today? I had heard of Lemov but I assumed he was offering more pedagogic garbage. But this is interesting stuff. Thanks
    Kerry Cue

Leave a Reply

