Polldaddy

Some students have engaged well with my student maths blog y9msc. Others not. Maybe they don’t “get it” yet?

My next ploy will be to get the whole class to do some tasks at school. I will include my10 question pythagoras quiz that I made using polldaddy.

Polldaddy is very easy to use, and I have found it to be a very useful diagnostic tool. Examples:

Q. Give a real world example of where the pythagorean theorem could be used:

A. You are in a maths class and one of the questions is to find the length of the hypotenuse on a right-angled triangle.

A. In teaching your kids or helping them when they come to learn it.

A. flying a kite.

A. The Pythagorean theorem could be used to determine the length of ramp.

Q. Pythagoras’ theorem can be used with:

A. right angled triangles

A. all triangles

Certainly some interesting insights here as to how my students are thinking, and some misconceptions I need to clear up.


About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Teaching Ideas, Web Resources and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

