Life Long Learners

This is a topic dear to my heart! I LOVE learning. I am very passionate about finding out new things. That is one of the main reasons why I blog. My Google reader now has over 100 blogs that I follow – so there is always some interesting reading waiting for me when I go online. I eagerly check each day if the likes of Dan Meyer, Kate Nowak or Kerry Cue; has blogged about a new idea.

This is part of my Personal Learning Network (PLN). And it is expanding!

This week I have begun a 12 week online course called Personal Learning Network for Victorian Schools. The first task was to set up a new blog on edublogs.org. I called it jeff4pln.

The second task was to read an article called 6 steps to effective learning. This article quotes a report that claims that “recent studies show that online learning, distance learning, and self-learning in general, are not only more convenient, but, in fact, more effective than the classroom, for high school, college and adult learners“.

It links to another article entitled Why great people never stop learning. It claims that 42% of all college graduates never read another book again! It lists 5 ways to make sure you don’t break the habit of learning:

1. Travel

2. Take up a new hobby

3. Read books

4. Read the newspaper

5. Read blogs

Ah, I do all of these regularly, do you?

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

