I am a Nerd

I am a nerd – and proud of it. But I wasn’t always a nerd! At school and college I just did enough to pass and in some subjects I struggled. But once I discovered Mathematics teaching I became a nerd. My kids became used to Dad always having his head buried in a book or solving a Maths problem.

Wikipedia defines a nerd as follows:  Nerd is a term often bearing a derogatory connotation or stereotype, that refers to a person who passionately pursues intellectual activities, esoteric knowledge, or other obscure interests that are age-inappropriate rather than engaging in more social or popular activities. Therefore, a nerd is often excluded from physical activity and considered a loner by peers, or will tend to associate with like-minded people”.

OK, according to this I am not a nerd all the time. I participate in a number of physical activities. Although one sports associate calls me “chalky”. His joke yesterday was: “Well chalky, you’ve finished cleaning your dusters, so what are you going to do for the rest of the week?”

Anyway, get over to the website Nerd Approved  to see some great gadgets ideal for nerds. Shown below is a sampler, from left to right: tape-measure watch, mosquito vacuum and pac-man bookcase.

My favourite TV sitcom is about nerds too, The Big Bang Theory. How could you resist listening to Sheldon analyse the game Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock.

Could I also be classified as a nerd because I love Wierd Al Jankovic? The video below would say yes!

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am a Nerd

  1. mathspig says:

    Hey Jeff or should I say Mr Nerdmeister,
    Have a great year. I’m looking forward to following your blog in 2010. Cheers Mathspig aka Kerry Cue

  2. juggler5 says:

    Hey!

    I just came across your blog, and I am thoroughly enjoying it! Check out my blog, http://www.aestheticsofthenerdy.wordpress.com!!! I blog about the beauty and artful nature of all things nerdy!

    -juggler5

Leave a Reply

