Roman Sebrle

Three years ago I went on a search of the world wide web for resources that would make my maths courses more interesting (both for myself and my students). I was astounded by the plethora of “stuff” out there. Many teachers are willing to share their worksheets, assignments, learning objects, etc; I was overwhelmed.

Having seen the limitations of purely teaching a skills syllabus (driven by Year 12 final exams and university entrance scores), I wanted to put together a collection of Mathematics investigations. These would be either intrinsically interesting and/or real world applications. The final product had 64 investigations and I named it “Working Mathematically”. An image of the cover is shown at right. For those Maths teachers looking for this type of material, I will post examples at regular intervals on Scribd.

#43 Roman Sebrle

Sport is rich in Mathematics but I must admit that I had never taken much interest in the Decathlon before. I discovered that the formulae used for points scoring system were:

  • Points = A*(B-P)C for Running Events
  • Points = A*(P-B)C     for Field Events

where P is your performance in specified units and A, B, and C are constants.

What a great example of the use of exponential functions! Even more interesting to me was the narrow escape from death that the Czech World Champion, Roman Sebrle, had during training in 2007.

You can see a list of all 64 investigations:  00 contents.doc

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Teaching Ideas, Worksheets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roman Sebrle

  1. Jason Smedshammer says:

    Some interesting things discussed here. I also have been looking for resources – whatever they might be – that would supplement my math classroom. I recently took a class where we needed to do a web 2.0 project. My problem was, and still is, that so many project ideas that are “real world” aren’t really real world at all, they are just contrived problems that happen to use technology. I ended up doing my project based on process standards as opposed to content standards. I had my students participate in both a class wiki and live chats using moodle in hopes that they would better learn the material we were covering. Have you tried using these tools in your classroom?

  2. hurdler49 says:

    Roman Sebrle… a living legend of the decathlon!

Leave a Reply

