10 Clues

Can you figure out who I am from the following clues?

WHO AM I ?

1.  Some consider me to be the most famous Mathematician of all time. Others scoff at this suggestion.

2.  My middle name was “Lutwidge”.cube_face_coloured

3.  I discovered that there are 30 different ways to paint the faces of a cube with 6 different colours. If some faces can have repeated colours then this increases to 2226 ways!

4.  I lived in the nineteenth century.

5.  I discovered an algorithm to calculate what day of the week any date would be.

6.  I lectured in Mathematics at Oxford University.

7.  I created logic problems where you had to make a conclusion from the clues given.

Here is an example:Christmas_pudding

All puddings are nice.
This dish is a pudding.
No nice things are wholesome.

8.  I invented “Doublets” or “Word Ladder Puzzles”, where you change one word into another by changing one letter at a time. For example, change MICE into RATS:

MICE

MITE

MATE

MATS

RATS

Now can you change FOUR into FIVE?

9.  I wrote a 6 x 6 square poem:

I OFTEN WONDERED WHEN I CURSED
OFTEN FEARED WHERE I WOULD BE
WONDERED WHERE SHE’D YIELD HER LOVE
WHEN I YIELD SO WILL SHE
I WOULD HER WILL BE PITIED
CURSED BE LOVE SHE PITIED ME

10.  I wrote a novel that became very famous. “At the start of the book I sent my heroine down a rabbit hole….without the least idea about what would happen afterwards“.

I am Charles ………………….

[If you know, don’t give the answer away, but perhaps leave another clue]

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Problem Solving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

