Expanding horizons

blinkers_smlSometimes it is too easy for teachers to have blinkers on. Since I have discovered the wonderful world of blogging, I have spent many hours searching for and, evaluating other teachers math blogs. You can see the results (36 math blogs) of my searching and evaluating on my Only2clicks page.

Three_horizonsRecently, I have taken the blinkers off, and started to expand my horizons. For example, I recently discovered Kathleen McGeady’s “Integrating Technology into the Primary Classroom“. This great blog taught me that I have to get off my butt and start using more web2.0 tools in my blog. Perhaps the odd video? Kathleen’s post on Origami reminded me that I must post on this much loved topic of mine. Thanks Kathleen!

While browsing amongst Kathleen’s great posts, I discovered that one of her students has started his own blog. So I navigated over to Riley’s Blog and left a comment. Thanks Riley for reminding me that I must get my students blogging!

 Next, I discovered Andrew McDonald. He is an author, writer and biped from Melbourne, Australia. His first novel for children is about Charlie Ridge, who has one small goal in life – to be the Greatest Blogger in the World.

greatest_bloggerAndrew’s Blog makes very interesting reading, which makes you think his book might be pretty good too. I’ll do a review after I’ve read it [watch this space]. His blog post dated 19 Sep, 2009, made me laugh. It is about Kevin Rudd’s Youth Blog. Andrew thinks Kevin should make his blog more interesting. For example, have a countdown flash object to Malcolm Turnbull’s birthday!

So, all these blogs show me that I’ve still got a lot to learn. Luckily I love learning, so I will continue to expand my horizons.

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

