Why I Blog

WhyI’m sure people have lots of different reasons for starting a blog. Once they start blogging these reasons may evolve or change. If you are still not sure about blogging then my advice to you is: “try it for yourself”. Blogging is probably not for everyone, but like anything new, it is best to experiment and analyse before you judge.

So which blogging software to use? I am predjudiced here. I have always found WordPress so easy to use, but powerful enough to meet my needs, that I have never bothered trying anything else!Wordpress-logo

I have 6 main reasons for blogging:

1.  Reflecting …..Thinker

This is an important part of teaching. Try, reflect, repeat, improve or discard.

2.  Web 2.0

Web20_logoA great place to play with technology and new ideas.

 

3.  Therapy

After suffering through massive trauma last year, I find that writing is very good therapy.

Therapy

Egyptian papyrus which describes therapy of migraine by bandaging a clay crocodile with herbs stuffed into its mouth to the head of the patient.

 

 

 4.  Sharing

shareTo improve schools and education in general, it is important that teachers help each other. Part of this is sharing ideas and resources. Another part is mentoring. If “webmaths” helps other teachers, then the time I have put into it will have been well spent.

5.  Building networks

wwwWhile blogging I have “met” a lot of great teachers. My network is ready to seek advice from them.

6.  Class Blogging

Before a teacher should introduce blogging as a learning tool in the classroom, they should be experienced bloggers themselves.

So if you already have a blog, why do you blog? If you don’t have a blog, set one up and give blogging a try!

If you wish to read further on this topic, then try What’s in it for you? by hipteacher; or Happy blogiversary to me by edtechie.

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Lists, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Blog

  1. Highschooler says:

    I think blogging is a great way to communicate and build communuty

  2. Pingback: To Blog or Not to Blog? « Webmaths

Leave a Reply

