ABC House Designs Pty Ltd

The task of designing your dream house is a purposeful, real world task. My Year 11 Foundation Maths students are at present immersed in their designs.

Stewy came into class today proudly displaying his plan. It was well drawn and is well on the way of meeting my design brief. You can download my assignment by clicking the Scribd icon in the right hand column.

“Can I have another sheet of squared paper Sir?” Stewy asked, “I am going to add a second story!”

Canberra_house

Even Julie, my great integration aide, drew her own plan. She happily showed it to the students and this helped them to do their own plans. Only one student, who normally works well, was reluctant to draw her house plan.

Once their magnificent designs are completed, I will make some special awards. This work will then give us an excellent springboard to do some area and volume calculations, as well as a costings.

Stay tuned to this space and I will post some pictures of completed house designs!

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Teaching Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

