FNQ

My trip to Far North Queensland was fantastic!

Why, you may ask, did I take a week’s leave in the middle of term? Well my neice decided to get married at South Mission Beach, which is south of Cairns, near Tully.

The wedding was beautiful. We assembled on the beach on Saturday afternoon. The weather was warm, with a lovely breeze. The view across to Dunk Island was amazing! The groom waited nervously, wearing black trousers, a white shirt and bare feet! When the bride arrived, all heads turned as my lovely neice walked up the beach.

Dunk Island

The wedding ceremony was touching and quite a few tears were shed. We only had to walk 20 paces to the reception, which was also on the beachfront!

Sunday was a recovery day and then 19 of us were off to the Tully river to go white water rafting. If you have never been wwr just do it. It is the most exhilirating thing I have ever done. Vinny, our guide, had massive arms, and when I started to fly out of the raft he just grabbed my life jacket and pulled me back in – one handed!

wwrLeaving from Cairns, our next destination was the Sunshine coast, above Brisbane. A visit to Australia Zoo was amazing. The animals have a lot more freedom than at some zoos as the picture below will show (I was only 3 metres away taking this picture!).

cheetah

Finally, to show that I have not completely forgotten mathematics:

I noticed this mirror in our hotel room and wondered how many different rectangles it had? What is your answer? (the reflection is from a painting on the wall)

mirror

left-brain powerI also bought a great puzzle book called “Building Left-Brain Power” by Gamon & Bragdon (1999). It has good number puzzles such as Digi-Clues, Addlocks, Number Lockers and Algebra Games. Image from Amazon.

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

