The Education Show

the_ed_show_banner

On Saturday I trundled along to the education show in Melbourne. I wasn’t too sure what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised! The sessions I attended were:

1.  Making the most of your super – as I am on the wrong side of 50, I thought it was about time I checked up on my plans for retirement. This session was excellent: all the facts I needed to continue my planning. Note: I can retire at the end of 2010, but I am loving teaching more than ever, so at least 6 more years is my present plan.

2.  Finding effective free online resources to enhance learning education.au – I was late for this one. I got tied up looking at new IWB’s. This session reinforced what an excellent resource EDNA is. Visit Australia’s free online network for educators for heaps of excellent free resources. Also an excellent personal networking feature.

3.  Classroom Management by Jenny Mackay – this session was packed, with teachers spilling out of the doors. An excellent talk. Jenny reinforced many of my ideas on managing kids. It is about building relationships. Hence why CRTs often have trouble with classes. Every interaction with students is a “dance”. You need to go into class with a Harry Potter coat on full of strategies. When a student enters the room or starts to misbehave – decode, dance and think (take space). As a teacher, model behaviour, manage don’t control, and teach behaviour.

Professional Development is like a box of chocolates – you never know what you are gunna get (apologies to Forest Gump). I set out for home well satisfied, and called into Ernest Hillier chocolates in Richmond. The turkish delights covered in luscious dark chocolate were yummy!

ernest hillier

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

