9 Dogs

dogsIn my Year 9 Maths class I gave Lauren the 9 dogs puzzle. This came about after I asked her if she had any dogs. Lauren promptly told me that she has a Labrador and a Golden Retriever. She prefers Golden Retrievers as her favourite breed.

Lauren was able to identify 8 out of the 9 breeds on my puzzle! She then worked on how to place the extra 2 squares diligently, and after being given a hint was able to solve it. Well done Lauren!

The class generally worked well, in particular Shantelle and Leah. They completed worksheets on rounding numbers to 2 decimal places and calculating surface areas.

With this class, I find that they will work well on a task until their concentration span is reached. This may vary from about 30 to 60 minutes. It is usually easy to observe when this happens. I then need to be organised with a new task – something ‘hands on’ is ideal or a problem (such as 9 dogs) to solve. Of course there are many other options to vary the delivery of a Maths lesson. eg. Video, Journal Writing, Quizzes, etc.

How do you ‘pace’ your lessons?

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy, Problem Solving, Worksheets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

