Lure of the Labyrinth

labyrinth2

Heard about this game via twitter a few weeks ago. At first glance I wasn’t hooked. After delving deeper, I found that this is an excellent game with some great Mathematics content.

It has 9 puzzles to solve each with 3 levels of difficulty. You first enter the cafeteria to feed a hungry set of monsters. To do this you will need to use ratios. This is a topic that my students seem to have a lot of trouble with, so using the Cafeteria puzzle is an excellent teaching tool.

The game has great sound and graphics, a very good story line (some in comic form), and teacher support material (eg. lesson plans and graphic organisers). It also has an administrators tool which allows you to keep track of student progress.

I forsee a lot of the game would be played at home by the student – a fun and rewarding way of doing Maths homework.

My colleague Warren and I have already spent a number of hours solving some of the puzzles and are now introducing the game to some of our classes.

I highly recommend this game to Maths teachers.

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Games, Web Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

