Rope around the Earth

earth-color-illustratedImagine a rope pulled tight around the circumference of the earth! We now lengthen the rope by 1 metre and position it uniformly above the earth. What is the gap between the earth and the rope? Will a mouse fit under it?

Are you surprised by the result?

Which Mathematician first proposed this problem (he died in 1752)?

[Thanks to my brother in law Trevor who reminded me of this famous problem]

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Problem Solving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rope around the Earth

  1. Kate says:

    I love this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

