Poker Solitaire

Adrian loves to play poker. But when no one is around he plays it as a solitaire game. He deals himself 25 cards and then tries to arrange them into the best poker hands possible going both across and up and down. He scores hands as follows:

One pair 10 points

Two pair 20 points

Three of a kind 40 points

Straight 60 points

Flush 90 points

Full House 150 points

Four of a Kind 200

Straight Flush 300 points

Royal Flush 400 points

How can Adrian rearrange the following layout to get the maximum score possible? What is this score?

 

poker

I play a simplified form of Poker Solitaire with my classes. You can download the rules here:  number-poker1

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Games, Worksheets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poker Solitaire

  1. Ooooh, a math blog. I can’t wait to share it with my teachers! Love your graphics, too.

    “Thanks for your encouragement Susan. I’ll try to keep lots of interesting posts coming.”

  2. Pingback: Playing Games #2 « Webmaths

Leave a Reply

