Friday 13th.

This year  there will be friday 13th in February and March.

1.  Can this occur with any two other months?

2.  In what year will the exact same situation happen again?

[Thanks to my daughter Rachel for this question!]

About webmaths

I have been teaching Mathematics in Victorian secondary schools for 30 years. I use the www to make my maths lessons better. I hope this blog will give other teachers some ideas to try in their own classes.
This entry was posted in Problem Solving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday 13th.

  1. Pingback: Math Teachers at Play #2 « Let’s Play Math!

  2. Vlad Dolezal says:

    As I was playing with the solutions to this puzzle, I wondered what could be the maximum number of Friday the 13ths in year. And I realized there will be ANOTHER Friday the 13th this year, in November!

    3 Fridays the 13ths is the maximum per year. This year’s configuration (February, March, November) is one possibility. There’s also another one, which I’m leaving as an exercise for whoever reads this comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

